## **President's Information Technology Advisory Committee**

December 2, 1999

The Honorable Neal Lane Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Old Executive Office Building, Room 424 17th Street and Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20502

Dear Dr. Lane:

The members of the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee would like to take this opportunity to reiterate the critical need for federal funding of information technology research and development. As you consider the priorities for the fiscal year 2001 budget, we hope that you will make information technology a top concern.

In our report to the President, *Information Technology: Investing in our Future*, February 1999, we recommended a strategic initiative to support long-term research in fundamental issues in computing, information, and communications. The report recommends yearly funding increases to the federal information technology research and development programs beginning in FY2000 with the goal of increasing the annual budget by \$1.37B by FY2004 - from \$1.4B in FY1999 to \$2.77B in FY2004.

We were strongly encouraged by and enthusiastically supportive of the Administration's FY2000 budget request for increased funding for information technology research. The research programs and activities proposed in the budget were highly responsive to our recommendations and demonstrated the Administration's commitment to sustained growth in information technology research. That commitment was an important first step in what must be a continuing effort on the part of the Federal government. We hope that you will consider the five-year funding profile proposed in our report to the President; this funding profile recommends an increase of \$733M in fiscal year 2001 over the fiscal year 1999 investment level.

We hope that you will consider information technology a priority for federal investment in your budget deliberations. We look forward to continuing to work with the Administration and Congress and to ensure adequate funds and sound policies and programs for information technology. If we can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to call upon us.

Sincerely,

Raj Reddy Co-Chair Irving Wladawsky-Berger Co-Chair

cc: The Honorable Jacob J. Lew

c/o National Coordination Office for Computing, Information, and Communications 4201 Wilson Boulevard • Suite 690 • Arlington, VA 22230 (703) 306-4722

Members: Eric A. Benhamou Vinton Cerf Ching-chih Chen David Cooper Steven D. Dorfman David Dorman Robert Ewald David J. Farber Sherrilynne S. Fuller Hector Garcia-Molina

Irving Wladawsky-Berger

Co-Chairs:

Raj Reddy

Sherrilynne S. Fuller Hector Garcia-Molina Susan L. Graham James N. Gray W. Daniel Hillis Bill Joy Robert E. Kahn Ken Kennedy John P. Miller David C. Nagel Edward H. Shortliffe Larry Smarr Joe F. Thompson Leslie Vadasz Andrew J. Viterbi Steven J. Wallach