The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) has requested NITRD create a multi-agency venue to build a whole-of-government approach, from research and development to pilot projects and adoption, to advance privacy-preserving data sharing and analytics technologies that enable collective data sharing and analysis while maintaining disassociability and confidentiality. Such technologies include, but are not limited to, secure multiparty computation, homomorphic encryption, secure enclaves, differential privacy, and synthetic data generation tools.

The FTAC will serve as a coordination mechanism for recently-started initiatives related to privacy- preserving data sharing and analytics, as well as future domestic and international efforts that may arise in the near term. In addition to and in concert with this charge, the FTAC will develop a cohesive national strategy to advance the research, development, and adoption of privacy-preserving data sharing and analytics technologies. The research and development component of this strategy will contribute to and complement any broader privacy R&D strategy that the NITRD Privacy R&D Interagency Working Group (IWG) leads.

↑ Top



  • Department of Commerce
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (Co-Chair)
    • Bureau of the Census (Co-Chair)
  • Department of Defense
    • Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
    • National Institutes of Health
    • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of State
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • General Services Administration
  • Office of the Director of National Intelligence National Science Foundation (Co-Chair)

The following organizations in the Executive Office of the President shall also be represented on the FTAC:

  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Office of Science and Technology Policy (Co-Chair) National Security Council

Cooperating departments and agencies shall include other such Executive organizations, departments, and agencies as the CSTE, NITRD Subcommittee, and/or FTAC co-chairs may designate, as appropriate.

↑ Top


Private-Sector Interface

This FTAC may seek advice from the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology to secure appropriate private sector advice and will recommend to the CSTE, NITRD Subcommittee, and/or OSTP Director the nature of additional private-sector2 advice needed to accomplish its mission. This FTAC may also interact with and receive ad hoc advice from various private-sector groups consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act.

↑ Top



Tess deBlanc-Knowles Tess deBlanc-Knowles
Senior Policy Advisor for Artificial Intelligence
National Artificial Intelligence Initiative Office (NAIIO)
White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)
James Joshi James Joshi
Program Director
Secure and Trustworthy Cyberspace (SaTC)
Division of Computer and Network Systems (CNS)
National Science Foundation
Naomi Lefkovitz Naomi Lefkovitz
Senior Privacy Policy Advisor
Cybersecurity and Privacy Applications Group
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Kate McCall-Kiley Kate McCall-Kiley
CoFounder & Program Director
xD | US Census Bureau


↑ Top


Recent Activities